Pride

2 Chronicles 26:16 But after Uzziah became powerful, his pride led to his downfall. He was unfaithful to the Lord his God, and entered the temple of the Lord to burn incense on the altar of incense.

It’s not that people don’t know what is right, their pride wouldn’t allow them to do right. Pride stands in the way for people to have a good relationship with Christ. Obadiah 1:3 The pride of your heart has deceived you, you who live in the clefts of the rocks and make your home on the heights, you who say to yourself, ‘Who can bring me down to the ground?’

1 John 2:4 If someone claims, “I know God,” but doesn’t obey God’s commandments, that person is a liar and is not living in the truth. To continue in pride means you are far from salvation, you are just adding numbers in church.

How many Christians inside church don’t talk to each other or have somebody they vowed never to forgive. What makes a person listen to a sermon about forgiveness yet comes out and continue with thought of not forgiving. There is another power that is at play, power that is dominating the believer’s thoughts. Romans 7:21-23 I have discovered this principle of life-that when I want to do what is right, I inevitably do what is wrong. I love God’s law with all my heart. But there is another power within me that is at war with my mind. This power makes me a slave to the sin that is still within me. Pride is affliction and requires deliverance. You cannot wish it away, confess and seek help.

The toughts if God can not exist together with pride. Psalm 10:4 In his pride the wicked man does not seek him; in all his thoughts there is no room for God.

Leave a Reply

